For much of my life I defined my role, to paraphrase H.L. Mencken, as “comforting the afflicted and afflicting the comfortable.” I had no hesitancy to ignite controversy and argument. I’m really good at it. But I have mellowed and gain no satisfaction from doing battle for battles sake.

At the same time, I am advised that without such ignition and stimulation, my blog, will not attract a large following. My audience will be small.

I am simply not in an argumentative mode. Sure, there is no lack of issues, people or ‘things’ out there that arouses my super-self-righteous ire. And I have not lost the ability to attack and scathingly. I just have no desire or attraction to do so. I’ll leave that for others. I hope my writings will be prove to be good medicine for those who are ready to move beyond withering and ultimately pointless attack and counter-attack.

Indeed my hope and prayer is for this site to be a fountain of redemption and hope, learning and a revelation of the possibility that there is something better out there than the tired anger, cynacism and despair we all see wherever we turn.

One caveat: Where and when I find a compelling imperative to articulate with strength, a position on an issue, I will not hesitate to do so. It’s just not the purpose of this blog.

